36 hours in Düsseldorf 🍺

Yes the title is correct, last month I visited Düsseldorf for 36 hours. I only found out last-minute that I was going as it was for my cousins stag do. I honestly didn’t think much of it and was quite pessimistic about the destination thinking there wouldn’t be much going on, other than some scary local Germans looking at us in detest; how wrong I was.

dav
Germanwings propeller Plane

Flying early on the Saturday morning on ‘Germanwings’ (a very cheap airline to fly with but also had a bit of a history for engine failures and crashes) I flew on a propeller plane which only took an hour and a half. Arriving in the city, taxis were readily available and the hotel was easy to locate. The city basically runs next to the river Rhine, so we just had to walk towards the river to find where everything was going on. Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 00.30.42.png

 

dav
View from the promenade

After walking into the centre and calling into a few bars on the way, I discovered that Düsseldorf was an absolute hidden gem. Booze was cheap, people were lovely, food was great and it was just an overall beautiful little city. We went on a brewery tour of the city (which was essentially just a pub crawl) having a strong beer at each stop. I would defiantly recommend doing this as you actually learn a bit about the city and it gives you your bearings to get around on your own

The nightlife in Düsseldorf was something else. It was absolutely mobbed and had every type of bar or club you could think of from heavy metal to your more typical club pop music. The atmosphere in the city was great and you felt safe pretty much everywhere you went. Besides the odd smashed glass there was no trouble whatsoever.

sdr
Street near the river

I didn’t see much of the city, however the next morning we had a bit of a wonder round and saw the city in proper day light, the buildings all looked beautiful and the public transport was super easy to use. We got a river cruise up and down the river Rhine, that really showed off the city, it was also only about 14 quid, lasted around 45 mins too an hour and you could get unlimited drinks from the bar onboard.

I definitely want to plan a return trip to Düsseldorf in the future, it is an underestimated, wonderful city with a lot to offer and definitely deserves more than 36 hours to explore and really get to know as a city. My short trip there has changed my perspective on Germany as a whole and I would like to see more of the country like Cologne, Munich and Hamburg.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑